Thanksgiving- Year in Review

As the world turns from the warm kiss of summer to the clean frost of Winter, I find myself lost in reflections from this year. I could tell you all the pressures and pains from this year, but the past is the past. And what I find myself remembering are the moments of strength I’ve found within myself. So much has happened this year. I decided to focus on my dream of becoming a published novelist, I started a blog, and despite being one of most antisocial creatures on Earth, I have a thriving Twitter account. I spent the year stepping out of my comfort zone. I took risks. And now, I have a decision. To self publish or not. I have one more publisher to submit my work. If that fails, then, I am happy to announce next year, I will be publishing my novel. It’s time to make my dreams happen. So many of us dream, and it is rare to have the ability to turn our thoughts into reality, to craft form from idea.

I am thankful for the road which brought me here. I am thankful for all of you who support my dreams. I am thankful for my friends who suffer as my testing focus group. I am thankful for everything I’ve learned this year. I am thankful for my husband, who is my strength when I am weak and my solace in the turbulence.

I think some people, would see a stack of rejection letters as a signal of defeat. I remember the same letters so many famous authors received. I look at my rejections and see a challenge, a mountain to overcome. And while I know this next part will undoubtedly make some of groan. It really is, as Miley Cyrus sings, about the climb.

“I can almost see it

That dream I’m dreaming but

There’s a voice inside my head saying

You’ll never reach it,

Every step I’m taking,

Every move I make feels

Lost with no direction

My faith is shaking but I

Gotta keep trying

Gotta keep my head held high

There’s always gonna be another mountain

I’m always gonna wanna make it move

Always gonna be an uphill battle

Sometimes I’m gonna have to lose

Ain’t about how fast I get there

Ain’t about what’s waiting on the other side

It’s the climb.” -Miley Cyrus, The Climb

Leave a comment